2019 Australia Day awards for Cottesloe Coastcare

Town of Cottesloe 2019 award winners – (L) Ella Wylynko , CCA’s Mike Ewing, Mayor Phil Angers, CCA’s Robyn Benken, Kirsty Barrett and Ross Barthgate.

It was celebration time for Cottesloe Coastcare volunteers! We were awarded the Town of Cottesloe Community group of the Year honour at the combined councils Australia Day event, held this year at Peppermint Grove foreshore. This picture shows some committee members and partners  celebrating on January 27th at Grant Marine Park, one of our project sites. (bottom photo is from the same time and place – by Thomas Westlake (14 years) using his drone.)

CCA member Robyn Benken received the 2019 Cottesloe citizen of the Year co-award with Kirsty Barrett. Kirsty was recognised for her community work including with North Cottesloe Primary School and the Toy library. Shine Aged Care volunteer Ross Bathgate received the Senior citizen of the Year award. Citizen of the Year Youth 2019 was awarded to Ella Wylynko.

CCA could not achieve what we do on the ground or receive any award if it was not such a great team – a big Congratulations to everyone!